About Nicobarese

The Nicobarese languages belong to the Mon group of the Austroasiatic Language Family spoken in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Union Territory of India. There are six languages as shown below in Figure 1. The current website is about the two endangered languages Sanenyo and Luro spoken mainly in Chowra and Teressa Islands respectively. The information I've shared here is based on first-hand fieldwork conducted on the islands by the team comprising Rahul Pachori, and Vysakh R. We were assisted for a short period by Rakhi Kumari and Suyashi during 2018-2020. 

Fig 1 Proto Nicobarese.docx

Chowra and Teressa islands

Map of India with Andaman and Nicobar Islands